M.P Police Academy Bhopal - History

Since 1986 Police Training  for Deputy Superintendent of Police and Sub Inspectors in Madhya Pradesh was provided at Jawaharlal Lal Nehru Police Academy (JNPA) at Sagar (the Institute exists since 1906). Apart from JNPA, training facilities also exist at Rustomji Armed Police Training College (RAPTC) at Indore and at various Police Training Schools (PTC)
The need was felt for a state of the art Academy to fullfill the needs of training as per the challenges faced during modern civilian policing.For these reasons, in a phased manner, The Madhya Pradesh Police Academy was established in a new campus near the State capital Bhopal.
In the first phase (Infrastructure) the Academy initially came into being as a Integrated Police Training Centre.Thereafter on 10 June 2013 the Madhya Pradesh Police Academy (MPPA) Bhopal finally came into existence.
The Police academy is situated 30 kms away from the main Bhopal City & is spread across a campus of 98 acres.
The Main purpose of the Academy is to provide Basic training to trainee Police Officers of the Rank of Dy.S.Ps and Police Sub-Inspectors in a state of the art training environment.
Apart from that it conducts In-Service courses on various issues affecting police working.

Training activities conducted till date

  1. 87th Batch of Sub Inspectors (188 Sub Inspectors) Year 2013
  2. 36th Batch of Deputy Superintendent of Police (17 D.S.Ps) Year 2014
  3. Basic training (4 Months) of Ministerial Staff (123 A.S.I [m] ) Year 2014
  4. Foundation Course (3 Months) 190 Subedars/S.I/P.C/S.I (S.B,Radio,F.P) Year 2015
  5. 88th Batch of Sub Inspectors (236 Sub Inspectors) Year 2015-16
  6. 89th Foundation Course {250 Subedars/S.I/P.C/S.I (S.B,Radio,F.P)} Year 2016
  7. 89th Batch of Sub Inspectors (289 Sub Inspectors) Continuing….
  8. Central Customs & Excise Batch of Inspectors (72 Inspectors).

Our Campus


Shri Sushovan Banerjee (IPS)


Shri Vineet Kapoor

SP (Administration)

Shri Sanjay Singh


Smt Rasna Thakur

Addl. SP (Administration)

Shri Sandeep Bhuria

Addl. SP (Training)

Shri S.K. Martin

DSP (Indoor Training)

Shri Vinod Pandey

DSP (Indorr Training)

Shri Santosh Shukla

DSP (Administration)

Shri Sudesh Chandra Sharma

DSP (Arms)

Shri Manoj Jakhramola

DSP (Outdoor)